Group Executive

The Group Executive Committee plays a vital role in the running of a Scout Group. Executive Committees make decisions and carry out administrative tasks to ensure that the best quality Scouting can be delivered to young people in the Group.

The Executive Committee exists to support the Group Scout Leader in meeting the responsibilities of their appointment.
Members of the Executive Committee must act collectively as charity trustees of the Scout Group, and in the best interests of its members to:

  • Comply with the Policy, Organisation and Rules of The Scout Association.
  • Protect and maintain any property and equipment owned by and/or used by the Group
  • Manage the Group finances.
  • Provide insurance for people, property and equipment.
  • Provide sufficient resources for Scouting to operate. This includes, but is not limited to, supporting recruitment, other adult support, and fundraising activities.
  • Promote and support the development of Scouting in the local area.
  • Manage and implement the Safety Policy locally
  • Ensure that a positive image of Scouting exists in the local community.

The Executive committee at Hartford comprises:

RoleNameContact
Group ChairMichelle Bebbingtonchair@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Group TreasurerJohn Bebbingtontreasurer@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Group SecretaryAlison Clarkesecretary@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Membership SecretarySian Lewismembership@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Gareth Lewisgareth@hartford.org.uk
Parent representativeBarry Rushton
Parent RepresentativePaul Mottram
Group Scout leaderGraham Wallacegsl@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Explorer LeaderGeoff Mullettgeoffreymullett11@gmail.com
Scout LeadersDuncan Appelbe &
Ian Johnson
scouts@1sthartfordscouts.co.uk
Cub Leader (Monday)Kate Knighthartfordmondaycubs@yahoo.co.uk
Cub Leader (Thursday)Su Smithbadenpowell@1stHartfordScouts.co.uk
Beaver Leader (Tuesday)Petra Hadinghamharttuesdaybeavers@yahoo.com
Beaver Leader (Wednesday)Sam Dowlingwednesdaybeavers@1stHartfordScouts.co.uk
Young LeaderRory
Johnathan